The Choice to Evolve: Part I

Our goal is to create a beloved community and this will require a qualitative change in our souls as well as a quantitative change in our lives.

Martin Luther King, Jr.

One day this past summer, during one of my infuriating afternoons of boredom, I decided to watch a random documentary. I scrolled through some options and clicked on the wistfully titled Cave of Forgotten Dreams, a documentary about the cave paintings discovered in the Chauvet Cave in southern France. The documentary itself was beautiful and informative, but it was one phrase spoken casually in French by an archaeologist that struck me with a throb of excitement that pulsed for days afterward and spun me out into a cloud of thinking that has brought me to this post today. It was these paintings, chalked up on the dank walls of the cave, that proved we had abandoned our primitive lives as homo sapiens. It was the first evidence that we had evolved into homo spiritualis.

Today we are at a similar critical evolutionary point. I know that’s a bold claim, and I am absolutely no scientist, but bear with me. We have evolved to be smart enough, and resourceful enough, and powerful enough to protect ourselves and thrive exponentially, and in doing so we have eliminated virtually any outside threat. Yet so many people feel the deep rumbling of unease, look out at their world and into themselves and just know things are not quite right. In becoming smart and resourceful and powerful, we’ve borne new threats to ourselves, threats that proportionally match the overwhelming way in which we’ve advanced.

So I’ve heard a theory (and I may be tweaking it a bit). We’ve evolved in a way that is unsustainable, and because we have this astounding intelligence, and deep nonverbal consciousness, we are pressured at this exact point in time to evolve in a way that course-corrects. Whether that’s due to natural development, or the collective unconscious, or just the obvious imperative for change, human access to higher consciousness is becoming not only more accessible, but pandemic.

And that is what this series is about. Now let me say that whether this is a scientifically viable theory or not is irrelevant. The point is that people by the thousands are awakening everyday, no matter how skeptical or judgmental or or dismissive the rest of the world is. It is happening, and will induce the inevitable shift in human consciousness that could heal our world. So I want to talk about this “course-correction”, how we’ve gone wrong and why. It’s not meant to be alarmist or accusatory, simply looking at the world from a fresh angle. And from there I’ll discuss the ways in which the evolution into higher consciousness, and your journey towards it, can truly affect change.

Just like everybody else, the first year of my journey into awakening was only about myself: who I was, my pains, my choices. But after 6 months of research and questions, I know that no matter how self-actualized I am, I can never be whole until I realize that I am a member of a community, even if that community is humanity itself. I am learning that my innate yearning to be whole is not only a call from my own soul, but a human evolutionary spark to realize my higher consciousness.

This quote sums it all up. Martin Luther King Jr. spoke a lot about the beloved community, and no matter what the context of his message, the theme is universal. The beloved community is more important now than ever before—in the face of genocide and global ruin and the epidemic of unhappiness. We must accept the evolution of our souls, and change our lives. So my posts for this series will be ways we can all accept life changes, as manifestations of our inner transformations. I know many people shy away from discomfort, and I know the stigma of some of these things are a great weight to lift. But all I ask is an open heart, compassion for your own soul, and a recognition of what you already know: that we are all one. 

Image by Spaceamoeba

