Let yourself be silently drawn by the strange pull of what you really love. It will not lead you astray.

Rumi

I just found this quote, and I am in love.

Too easily we doubt what we love, what makes us truly ourselves. This blog is an example of this in my life. Since I was a little kid I’ve been buried in books and ideas on what it means to be human, what it is to explore the soul. It thoroughly fascinates me. When I think back on all the things I wanted to be as a grown-up (with the exclusion, only, of a princess), they all revolve around my devotion and reverence for the soul.

It took me 3 years from first conceptualizing this blog to actually starting it. I thought, “Who am I to discuss ideas so immense? Who would care? Anyway, I’m an actor and singer, not a blogger. This is not for me.” The catalyst, finally, was the overwhelming buildup of enlightenment from my journey that was clogging my veins. Self-discovery was no longer something that fascinated me, but something I was doing, even knowledgeable about. I was at last confident enough in myself and my genuine passion for the soul to begin to speak about it openly.

And I don’t mean to jump at the bit, but writing on this blog is something I am loving. I can express thoughts I would otherwise bottle up for fear of judgement. I can share wisdom that has helped me, and might help someone else. I simply feel good about what I’m doing, no matter how small or unpopular it may be.

I was, and am, pulled by the strange feeling that this is what I really love. And I have a inexplicable, calm peace about it. I don’t dare guess what the future holds, but right now I know that if I squint, I can almost make out the winding shape of a path.

And that is the best that anyone could ask for.


Photo by Russell Harrison Photography

