Until you make the unconscious conscious, it will direct your life and you will call it fate.

Carl Jung

I’ve been doing a lot of thinking about my future, my past, and the battering silence of the present. I’m sure everyone can relate to being a kid and knowing everything about yourself, just feeling the essence of who you are all around you. I’m sure everyone can also relate to picturing yourself in the future and seeing incredible things, visualizing your very dreams in the flesh.

But what about now? Now, for many of us, there is only silence. We make choices without the passionate conviction of our childhood selves, and those choices so often lead us farther away from that future we set our hearts on.

I’m not sure how it is for you, but for me this is terrifying, debilitating. Sometimes only the thought alone of making a “wrong choice” cocoons me up so that I won’t even decide anything, just sit alone in my room, still silent.

This is a quote (by my most favorite psychologist of course) that brings me at least a taste of comfort. Jung says that if we don’t make the unconscious conscious (or that is, make what’s truly in our hearts and souls our daily reality) it will lead our lives and we’ll know it by nothing else but fate. Basically, our souls (whether we know it or not) will lead us where we need to go. That doesn’t mean it will lead us where we want to go. Sometimes what we decide for ourselves is not what we really want and need after all.

So on this Monday, maybe we can find a little peace in that our souls are always guiding us. Most of us just aren’t aware of it. So the challenge, then, is not to make the right choices, not to try to smash our pasts with our dreams into the present moment in which we live. The challenge is to discover what we really need, who we really are. The challenge is to let your soul be your guide, and to meet it along the road.

